Wish you were here

I’m not that much into writing poetry anymore. But sometimes a few lines here and there leave a strong impact and the sleeping instincts spark to life. Only for a brief moment, though, to get back to their usual state of hibernation.

Deepti posted some beautiful lines, from the street poet in before sunrise, on her buzz.

I want you to know what I think / Don’t want you to guess anymore / You have no idea where I came from / We have no idea where we’re going / Lodged in life / Like branches in a river/ Flowing downstream / Caught in the current / I’ll carry you / You’ll carry me / That’s how it could be / Don’t you know me? / Don’t you know me by now?

The following lines flowed out, almost automatically.

Wish you were here, my cup
of that elixir
which was always brimming
strong as ever
each and every moment
and the moments between moments
which kept me going
both the cause
and the reason
for my going on living.

The connection is lost
and I have nothing to live on
a  dry farmland
nothing to offer
hiding my cracks
under the cover of darkness
afraid of the sun
and of what it will show
one, two three
five hundred, six hundred
or was it seven..?

wish you were here, my rose red
I want to drink again.

Ahh, a lot of romanticism for one post, isn’t it?

Do you think my is poem anywhere near the league of the poet? Drop in your honest responses – Yes, no, maybes. It’ll be interesting to see what you people think. I won’t take offence. Honest.

Categories: Poems | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Wish you were here

  1. Sundeep

    the poet’s poem reminded me of “Jane Kahan Se Aayee Hai” and your continuation reminded me of “Smallville”:-/ .

  2. vrikmace

    “dry farmland
    nothing to offer
    hiding my cracks
    under the cover of darkness
    afraid of the sun
    and of what it will show”
    Nice.🙂

    “wish you were here, my rose red
    I want to drink again.”
    makes so much sense !!🙂🙂

    I like it. Can’t say its a poem because poem’s definition is so vague these days.😦
    But it does make good sense.

    “The connection is lost”, why connection?
    “each and every moment
    and the moments between moments”
    you went quite deep!!😀

  3. “wish you were here, my rose red
    I want to drink again.”
    most romantic line😛

  4. yash

    yes.But the connection..sometimes more absurd it is..the more times u want to read it🙂

  5. Saujanya

    it’s nice..i like the line ‘moments between moments’🙂

  6. both the cause and the reason
    for my going on living

    That is a good take on affection for anybody… Good lines… keep it up!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

