3 Idiots

The wannabe photographer revved his bike. The speedometer needle pushed, and then finally crossed 90. And then, into the stillness of the highway night, he screamed

“AAAAAALL IIIIIIIIIIZZ WEEEEEEEEEELL”

And for that moment, he felt that his life wasn’t so bad after all.

The wannabe researcher pushed his cellphone into his desk drawer and banged it shut. He could hear the cellphone collide with the inside walls. And then with finality, he went out and locked his flat.

His phone rang after some time. To the beautiful tune of

“Saari umra hum, mar mar ke ji liye…”

“A good way to pretend that I am still doing research…” thought the researcher.

The confused software guy sat in front of his office PC. “Shit, WTF is the problem with the fucking memory allocation! ”

All of a sudden, despite the looming deadline, the memories of his first year in college, when he and his friends had mastered Malloc and Calloc together, came to him. And like every other memory of college, came rushing with it his friends the photographer and the researcher. And with them, their wild, free spirits and the fierce will to break free.

A  song automatically came to his lips.

“Behti hawa se the wo…”

Meanwhile, the balatkari was entering IIM for another two years of non-stop balatkar.

Categories: Short Stories | 21 Comments

Post navigation

21 thoughts on “3 Idiots

  1. Nice one. But such hatred for IIMians?😀

  2. Even though I have no idea who the protagonists are, I enjoyed it🙂 Lovely writing.

    • The characters are NOT LIFTed from real life. I can create characters, too🙂

      • Just shows how well you wrote it. It seemed to me that you had written about you and your friends🙂

      • 🙂 Thank you thank you🙂

        The characters might have been unconsciously drawn from people I personally know, but that’s about it🙂

  3. sundeep

    I guess you identify yourself in those three roles. Nicely put🙂.

  4. @Sundeep, you raised an important issue. I think a pertinent discussion would be in order.

    Whatever any writer writes, is based on her/ his thoughts. That’s why they say, that any writing, or any work of art for that matter, is an extension of the artist’s personality.

    The thoughts come from what we see around us. In case of the characters I create, they come from my own character, or from the characters of the people I know, or have read about, or have seen in movies, or have otherwise known. There is a bit of me in all these characters, and there’s much else more.

    So when you ask me if I identify yourself with these characters, yes, I do in some ways and no, I don’t in some others. I didn’t come up with the best possible reply when I replied to your first comment. My apologies to you for that.

    Good to see that you have identified with these characters. That probably means that I have managed to touch some basic, inner aspect of human nature, something which someone I didn’t have in mind while writing identifies with. Thanks for your feedback🙂

    Please feel free to express your thoughts here, now and always🙂

  5. Satish

    nice one dude..:)

  6. hehe …. guess you were also getting a bit nostalgic when writing this😛

  7. Lee

    They sure should;ve taken this as the ending scene for the movie… (:

    • This might have been a scene in the intervening period between the two phases – what happens one year after the guys leave college🙂

  8. nice take on how life can divulge from a common point.
    I am really loving this sequence of short stories from you.
    Keep writing.

  9. Manish Sharma

    I too wanna be FREE.
    Give me some sunshine, Give me some rain….
    Give me another chance, I wanna grow up once again🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

